Boardwalk Properties
617 566 5333 | 617 445 2200

Boardwalk Properties Real Estate Reviews

Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

My roommate and I worked with Dan who was absolutely wonderful. He was attentive to our wish list (which was of course long) and our small budget. He was prompt with emailing us back and setting up times to view apartments. While we didn't end up signing with him, I would definitely use him again and recommend his services.

April 04, 2012
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

Wonderful experience. While looking for an apartment, I worked with Dan at Boardwalk Properties, and I had a really good experience. He called or sent me a text every day to let me know about leads he had found. He is very willing to work with your budget, and is incredibly nice! Overall a wonderful experience, and I highly recommend Boardwalk Properties.

February 09, 2012
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

We had a great experience with Boardwalk Properties . We worked with Jon to purchase a house inside the loop, who is extremely knowledgeable. Jon was patient and very helpful throughout the entire process and helped us find the perfect home for us. We truly enjoyed working with him. Even after we bought the house, Jon has followed up with us to make sure everything was going well. He is very responsive and was always looking out for us throughout the whole home buying process.

February 10, 2012
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

Albert from Boardwalk was amazing! My roommates and I spoke/met with A LOT of agents and the range in customer service was pretty surprising. Albert was extremely attentive and genuinely wanted to find us the best place possible. He set us up personal meetings with landlords and made sure we were totally comfortable in our decisions -- I never felt pressured or like he was trying to sell us something. I doubt we were, but he treated us like we were his only customers and called us as soon as a a place we might like fell onto his radar. He ended up getting us a gorgeous apartment within our price range. Hopefully I won't have to find a new place anytime soon, but if I do I know who I'm calling.

November 8, 2011
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

I was looking for a place with 3 other guys and we could not have had a better experience than with Al Estavez (alinsan@rentboardwalk.com). He found a place in a better location and for cheaper than we were hoping and went completely above his duties of just finding the place. Every time we needed help from finding another roommate to fill our place to getting the lease from the landlord, signing it, and having him bring it back, he was willing to go the extra mile. I would really highly recommend Al because he will seriously make himself available to help you and definitely earned his broker fee from us.

August 16, 2011
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

If it wasn't for Dan, I wouldn't have the best place to live in Brighton. Our townhouse wasn't listed, it was their private listing just in their company. He knew right off the bat what I wanted, and didn't hesitate to show me exactly that. Other places I went would try to con me in to a place I had no interest in, or show me things w/one bathroom per say, when I said I would not look at ANYTHING that didn't have two. They just didn't listen. Also, I had one guy at another company call me the wrong name... via email... when it says right on it who it is! Another more expensive company, looked down upon me because I didn't look like their normal clientele... little did they know how much we were willing to spend. Dan was SO helpful, and the rest of the guys in the office were too. He made special trips for us, helped us get the place even though our now landlord did NOT want cats, and has since checked in with me to see how everything is going.With family in Real Estate, I know how important customer service is, and he killed it (that's a good thing!). Anytime from now on I need a new place/to move/referral he's the first guy I'm going too!

October 11, 2010
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

We were helped by an Agent called Carleton, kept up on the paperwork and helped move along the lease agreements quickly and without a hitch. They were good about keeping a line of communication between us and the landlord and he dropped an email/text to check up on the progress of signing the lease. Good customer service from what I can tell. I will advise friends to use them!

March 18, 2013
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

I have been working with Michael Swainn to rent one of my units. Have found him to be diligent, conscientious and communicative. The prospects he has brought in have been what I had been looking for. They also mentioned how they appreciated his selection of units to show. This saves all of us valuable time.

July 2, 2012
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

I use to live in Mission Hill for a couple years and lived on Hillside under Tiffany Livingston. She was straightforward and always got things done. My closests friends and girlfriend have used Boardwalk in Mission Hill several times and have not had a problem. I liked the my property manager Tiffany so much I asked if they were hiring. Now that I work in Real Estate I can appreciate the extremely strict policies of abiding by every single real estate related law or be fired. Not every interaction is perfect but agents are actually great people from all types of backgrounds doing the right things for their clients. Tiffany was great. And now I have a job.

November 17, 2011
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

After working with Boardwalk Properties, and more specifically the agent J.T. Kelly for the last month, I have nothing but excellent things to say about my experience. J.T. contacted me daily to inform me of any available listings, new prices he was trying to negotiate, and when and where he could show me apartments that fit my needs. He found my roommates and I a great deal that fit all our specifications, even during a time where the market is nearly at a standstill. I would recommend Boardwalk Properties and J.T. to anyone looking for a new apartment.

October 27, 2011
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

I had 2 months to find an apartment before my senior year due to a personal conflict with friends. Tashina Mckenzie showed me the apartment I was looking for and everything else on the market. She even drove us around to look at the apartments. She did all this with less than two hours notice. She is hardworking, courteous, kind, and the only thing she is concerned more about then doing her job is meeting her clients needs. I would highly recommend her.

June 27, 2011
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

I was looking to rent a house in Cambridge close to MIT, I was kind of confused until I met Al Esteves from Boardwalk Properties. He had a great listing he showed great houses with very fair prices. He was truly helpful. I really recommend Al as an agent to look for a house in Boston area. He has great listings.

June 6, 2011
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

I'm an MIT student and I had been searching for a place for a while, until I met Al Esteves from Boardwalk Properties. Instead of having me look for a place and ask him to do a viewing, he was proactive and took care of everything. Al was a great guy who helped me out with a lot out of kindness. If I ever need to look for a place again, or if a friend asks for help, I'll be sure to send them to Al. At Boardwalk Properties they have a huge database of properties, and they will always work with you for the best.

June 5, 2011
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

I haven't received anything in exchange for writing this review other than exceptional service from one of Boardwalk's agents, John Canning. I called John re one of his listings early on in my search for an apartment. He invested a great deal of time in getting to know me and my needs. He was extremely conscientious and contacted me the second anything appropriate came to his attention. He called numerous landlords on my behalf and provided all sorts of useful information on the properties he presented to me. I dealt with a number of realtors and none of them came close to John in work ethic. I highly recommend him.

June 3, 2011
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

I meant to write this review long ago. I rented an apartment with Harrison Shell last year. I basically called Boardwalk Properties and asked to see apartment ASAP and Harrison was able to show me about 6 places. Some of the apartments were not of my like which is very normal, but he was able to show me 2 awesome places. He negotiated the price for me and got me parking! I am really happy with my apartment and with the professional and friendly manner in which Harrison helped me find a home.

May 31, 2011
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

Due to my old apartment getting forclosed on I decided to go in search of a new apartment. I randomly ran into this apartment listing. When I saw the pics I was amazed. So I decided to call to set up a time and day to view this apartment.... AND now I'm living here in this awsome apartment. So happy ^_^ Many thanks go out to Kensley Dimmontt. He was wonderful to work with. I could tell he treated my concerns and working with each other's schdules to be very important to him personally. I also liked that he was able to sense if the apartment would be a good fit for me. It was really great that I was also able to get in touch with him not only by email or phone but also by text. Would I recommend him to others or rely on his services again? The answer would be yes.

May 25, 2011
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

I was overseas when I had to start looking for my apartment, so I had to rely entirely on e-mail and the internet. Most agents completely ignored me, I'm assuming because I'm a college student. Carleton Ashley actually gave me a chance and since then he's more or less saved me. He moved around his schedule to meet with my parents on a Saturday to show them apartments and found a place that perfectly met my requirements. He's answered every e-mail promptly and given me all the information I need. He's gone above and beyond and completely changed my perception of realtors. I know some of the agents at Boardwalk have been total disappointments to people. Some of the agents who ignored me were from Boardwalk. But it's encouraging to see there are still some professionals working there who believe in customer service.

May 15, 2011
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

Carleton Ashley represented the landlord of our new apartment in Jamaica Plain. Carleton was a total professional throughout the renting process. He delivered on promises, facilitated communication with the owner, and got the lease together and signed promptly and without hassle. We didn't have much contact with his agency Boardwalk Properties. However, Carleton did everything required to get us in our new place fast. Highly recommended.

May 12, 2011
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

My boyfriend and I used Jacob Realty on our search for our first apartment together. They were so helpful and got us exactly what we were looking for inside of our budget. We will definitely use them again when we need a bigger place or are ready to buy a home! I highly recommend them!

October 24, 2011
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
4 / 5 stars

I found Carleton to be very helpful in a difficult process of finding housing in the Boston area. He made it very easy to communicate with him- and lets face it- accessibility is a must in a process like this.

April 27, 2011
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

My boyfriend and I had been searching for the perfect apartment in the Cambridge area for several months. We looked on craigslist and various other real estate sites, speaking with dozens of agents about what we wanted and what was available. We inquired about a few listings we saw on the http://Cambridgepads.com site and were lucky enough to work with Jeff Handel. Jeff was extremely helpful in our search. Where most agents would gather 1 or 2 listings per meeting, Jeff put together many available listings that fit our needs and desires and drove us to see everything that matched. We saw over a dozen apartments with Jeff and considered putting in applications for several of them. We were so impressed by Jeff that we actually looked for apartments that we knew he could show us, simply because we felt he earned a full fee for all his work. He was professional and personable, keeping us calm anytime we started to get stressed or worried. His knowledge of Cambridge and of the real estate options in the area really made us feel like we were in good hands. We are recommending him to all of our friends that are looking for places to live and hope he can help them as much as he did for us. It was a pleasure to work with Jeff, and we will certainly contact him again when we move in the future. Thank you, Jeff! -Paola and Noah

May 10, 2011
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

After calling JT Kelly off an ad on craigslist he showed me and my friends about 20 different places in Mission Hill. He was extremely professional, VERY funny and easily accessible. He's pretty young too so easy to connect to. Most of the apartments were spacious and of high quality. We ended up renting our top choice for next year. The whole process was very easy, we basically just showed up when told. When we went to the office everyone was extremely professional and knowledgable including the woman who helped us sign leases for the property (I can't remember her name). I highly recommend Boardwalk Properties and JT. I can't wait to live in my apartment.

February 24, 2011
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

Raul Lorenzano from Boardwalk Properties provided an instrumental point of view to help guide our apartment search. My girlfriend and I were relocating from out of state and didn't know the first thing about the neighborhoods in Boston. Raul took two days of his time to help us find the right fit. On the first day we viewed properties that I had selected online and then, after having educated himself on what was important to us, he took a second day to show us his own curation of properties. He asked smart questions and was absolutely professional in his approach. His opinions and encyclopedic knowledge of the area proved critical. Strongly recommended.

July 15, 2010
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

This is my second year in Boston, BU. Last year when I was freshman, I was looking for a place to move out for next year but had no clue what should i do, or whom should I talk to. When I was struggling, Alex; a agent from Boardwalk Properties, knocked on my door and came in to talk about apratments. He showed me the chart which compares the budget, advantage and disadvantge of living on campus or off campus. With great advices and stories he told me, I finally decided to live in a apartment next year and ask Alex for his help. few weeks later, he showed me total about 12 apartments and asked me which one I favor the most. Me and 2 of my roommates really loved one house, and decided to purchase it. Starting from looking at the apartment to signing the contract, meeting the landlord, moving in, and even after, everything went so fast, efficiently, and smoothly, with the help of Alex. I really enjoyed and apreciated his advices, and help and really impressed by how he still take cares of us even after his job is done. One of the best service and least stressed real estate matter I ever dealt with. I hope this review helps those who are thinking about moving out next year. Thank you. Peter Park

Septmber 11, 2009
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

I would highly recommend Brandon Swab, an agent working with Boardwalk Properties. I have had experiences renting apartments in both the New York City and Boston markets, and have never had a better experience. Brandon is observant and is a good listener. He quickly assumed my taste in apartments and did his best to meet my needs. He was also very honest, keeping within my price range without trying to oversell. He was in constant contact with me and was willing to take a few extra steps to make sure he was providing a quality service. If you work with Boardwalk Properties, work with Brandon!

June 12, 2009
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

Steve Shaw is the best! we were in love with a particular property in Cambridge, and we were determined to get an apartment there. I called Steve, and he immediately set up a tour of every unit for rent in the complex! Toured us around and answered every single question we had... he made the whole process completely painless! We found an apartment for the price we wanted last year-- and he still calls or e-mails to check in every once in a while. Great guy! If you haven't gone through a real estate transaction before, you can't believe how much paperwork is involved. It can be overwhelming. He was great about explaining everything we signed. We didn't realize that each landlord often has a different addendum for each specific property. Steve went through explaining what the landlord expected from us and what we could expect from the landlord.Aside from choosing an apartment and all that it entails, there are so many factors to consider, and decisions to make. Steve listened to our needs and made suggestions, but we didn't feel forced into doing things 'his way'. As I said before, he got us great price, and we didn't have to do much beyond signing the paperwork. Thanks so much Steve and Boardwalk Properties!

May 9, 2009
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

I have lived in Boston for 5 years now and gone through 2 different apartment searches. I have used several different resources such as going straight to property managers (avoid that) along with my own searches on craigslist and everywhere else on the internet. My fiancé found a place that looked interesting using craigslist and Boardwalk was the apartment service it was listed with. Brandon Swab was our broker and he was a great agent. He was knowledgeable about the condo we found and had a good relationship with the owner which was a definite plus. We were able to negotiate some lease terms, price and maintenance/changes to the space which handled every one of our concerns. The process was very smooth and Brandon kept us informed of the status throughout. Brandon also took the time to put our apartment request changes in writing on the lease so that we felt secure that the apartment would be in excellent condition prior to us moving in. Everything was done up front and clearly spelled out. I would definitely recommend Brandon and Boardwalk to anyone looking for a place in the city.

May 5, 2009
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

So there we were, the three of us, the cat and the car, feeling rejected because nobody would accept us a group. My roommates and I were looking for a place in Backbay. Not just any place... THE place that would accept a cat and be an awesome apartment. We didn't think we were being unreasonable at first; we wanted a modern place, with a parking spot, that accepted our lovely cat. We had a good price range, but apparently, when you have a pet and need parking, money is not good enough in Backbay. We didn't like the idea of paying a broker fee, but this market is so competitive that the chances of us finding a place that was everything we wanted was slim, especially when looking on our own. We found Donald from Boardwalk on craigslist... our desperation led us to call him on an ad he had for an apartment that was pet friendly in Cambridge. We asked him if he would please help us find a new home. Donald was all business from the get go. He was friendly enough, but all business. Donald said he would "hit the phone" and get back to us. Less than 24 hours later, we were on our way to see 6 apartments, all of which were in good condition. We really liked and really wanted one of them. Donald got us to present the landlord with an offer that same day; we signed leases the day after! We went from being desperate to having a home in just 3 days, all because of Donald's "all business" attitude. The place we found was so close to the red line that we decided keeping our car was stupid, so we're going to sell it and invest in some new furniture for our awesome new place!

Apil 6, 2009
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

My boy Lisan at Boardwalk set my friends and I up with sweet pad. We looked all over Mission Hill and every apartment we walked into had been turned into a hellhole by the current tenants. It's incredibly hard to look past people's crap all over the floor of an apartment. That's when Lisan drove us by a construction site and said "How would you like to live here?" I was puzzled, as I'd prefer to live in an apartment full of students' crap than in a hole in the ground. Lisan proceeded to tell us that the developer in charge of that construction site was already renting the units for September. He called the manager right from his car and arranged for the guy to meet us with the blueprints and floor plans! We're now lined up to be the first people living in a brand new apartment being built right now! My experience with Lisan and Boardwalk was very pleasant as I felt like they knew the area incredibly well and got us something that no other company would have gotten us.

April 3, 2009
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

I've used Boardwalk for all the apartments I've moved into, they do their homework and have an unbelievably large and diverse database. Steve Shaw is best agent there. Honest, flexible, friendly and good sense of humor. Never a nightmare with these guys, they're a safe bet.

December 2, 2008
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

Kevin is pretty much a different kind of fella. My wife and I were looking to rent a house and Kevin showed us around. He quickly, professionally and concisely went over what we were going to look at. He delivers personal service in a fast and furious manner and he walked us through every step along the way. Kevin took a lot of time with me to find just the right place to rent when I moved to Boston 2 years ago. He listened to what I was looking for and found me the right place in just a couple hours. He really knows his stuff. I highly recommend Kevin and Boardwalk Properties. When my lease is up, I'm going back to this guy.

November 29, 2008
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

When I was moving to Boston, I checked yelp and saw some good reviews about Boardwalk Properties. I poked around on their website and saw a bunch of pictures and videos of properties. Boardwalk had more videos and pictures than all the other real estate companies websites that I visited. Slightly reluctantly, I decided to give them a chance. - If only to thank them for their great online database. Boy am I glad I did! My agent Kensley, was super-attentive and helpful. Since I was moving from NYC, I was having a hard time dealing with people who wouldn't or couldn't use the email and phones to arrange this - Boardwalk Properties, however, didn't have a problem with this at all. So, my advice is to take a look at their website,( http://www.rentboardwalk… ) and if you find that to be useful, give them a call.

November 29, 2008
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

I decided to call Boardwalk Properties after my last realtor decided to show me 3 properties and force me into renting one. He claimed that in this season, I wouldnt find anything else. Boardwalk's website claimed that they had over 60,000 listings, so I figured they might have more to show me. After calling Vetto (?), he explained that indeed, this was the slow season, but that he would do his best to find me as many properties as possible. The next day we went out and I was sold on the 7th property he showed me. There was no pressure from Vetto, the apartment sold itself! I was so excited about this place that I wanted to make sure it was mine on that same day. Vetto contacted the landlord immediatly (from the property!) and 1 hour later the apartment was mine! I was incredibly impressed with how friendly and professional this office was and by Vetto's knowledge. Thank you Boardwalk!

December 05, 2007
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

I have had a few problems with real estate agents in the Boston area. Some are unprofessional, some blow you off, and others do not listen to YOUR requirements. What I mean by unprofessional is that they dress like crap and their cars are messy with McDonalds wrappers scattered throughout. When getting the assistance of an agent this not what I expect. This was not the case however with Eugene at Boardwalk Properties. He helped me find the perfect apartment. Not only was Eugene extremely professional and courteous, but he spent the time to sit down with me and discuss exactly what I would like in an apartment. Eugene found me a place near Central Square on River Street in Cambridge.

July 17, 2007
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
4 / 5 stars

When I was looking for my first apartment in Boston, Steve Shaw was a great help to me. I wasn't exactly sure about the different areas I could live in, and more specifically what I could afford, but he made the process so easy and simple. After only a few weeks, I had signed a lease for my first apartment. Thanks Steve and Boardwalk Properties! I couldn't have done it without you.

July 09, 2007
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

When my husband and I were looking for a new apartment, we were not looking forward to the real estate process. Both of us had had bad experiences before, and this time we were expecting a little one, so we were already in a stressful situation. We found Boardwalk Properties, and used them as our real estate agency. They made the process completely painless; they had so many listings to choose from, in all price ranges and areas of Boston. Boardwalk found us a great apartment that fit all our needs; we absolutely love it! Our agent, Steve Shaw was so helpful! Everyone we dealt with was incredibly friendly and professional. I highly suggest using Boardwalk!

July 06, 2007
Boardwalk Properties Review
183 Harvard Avenue Allston, MA 02134
5 / 5 stars

Upon graduating from Boston University I wanted to stay in the area but invest in a property of my own. I went to multiple companies before I found Boardwalk Properties. Boardwalk was the only company that actually seemed experienced in both rentals and sales, and could answer all of my questions and concerns. Debbie was my buyers agent, and she was excellent. I found my dream condo and she negotiated an excellent price for me. Not only did she help me with finding the right property but then guided me through the mortgage process as well. They have mortgage professionals ready to get you the best rate and a great buyers attorney as well! After hearing some of the headaches my friends and family have went through when purchasing a property I had many fears, Debbie helped me through this complicated process with ease. Boardwalk is truly a five star company and I recommend them to all students and professionals whether they are looking to rent, buy or sell! Thanks Debbie!

March 16, 2007

Boardwalk Properties Real Estate Services